Board of Trustees

A board of trustees, appointed by the governor of the state of Washington for five-year terms, governs Everett Community College. The board meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 5 p.m. in the Henry M. Jackson Conference Center. The meetings are open to the public.  Current agenda and minutes from previous meetings can be found on the Trustees Meetings and Minutes  page.

For more information regarding meetings, the agenda, and board actions call the Office of the President at 425-388-9572.

Bob Bolerjack

Bob Bolerjack of Everett was appointed by Governor Chris Gregoire in October 2012.  He is the Executive Director of Governmental Affairs for the   City of Everett. Prior to working for the City, he worked in Communications for the Snohomish County PUD, and before that he worked for The Daily Herald in Everett for 25 years - the last 10 as editorial page editor.  During his years at The Herald, he also served as news editor and sports editor.  Before joining The Herald in 1987, he worked at The Post-Star newspaper in Glens Falls, NY, and The Times-News in Twin Falls, Idaho.  He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism (with a minor in Political Science) at Western Washington University, and an Associate in Arts degree at  Bellevue College.

Gigi Burke

Gigi BurkeGigi Burke of Lake Stevens was appointed by Governor Chris Gregoire in January 2010. She is a local businesswoman with 20 years of business leadership experience. She previously was an owner and vice president of Crown Distributing from 1989 to 2007. Ms. Burke has also served as a Washington State Regional Transportation Commissioner, and was a member of the Washington Beer and Wine Wholesaler’s Association (President 2003-2005), Snohomish County Executive Advisory Board, City of Everett Charter Review Committee, and Mountain Pacific Bank Board of Trustees. She’s a member of the Boys and Girls Club of Snohomish County Board of Trustees, Greater Everett Community Foundation Board, Providence Regional Medical Center General Children’s Association Guild, and the South Everett/Mukilteo Rotary. She previously served as the Everett Public Schools Foundation President (1999-2001) and was a member of the YMCA Board of Trustees. She is the recipient of the University of Puget Sound’s National Alumni Association’s Lifetime Alumni Achievement award, Greater Arlington Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Year award, and the Washington Association of School Administrators Community Leadership Award.

Dr. Betty Cobbs

Betty Cobbs 2Dr. Betty Cobbs of Everett was appointed by Governor Chris Gregoire in March 2009. Dr. Cobbs is the Principal at Woodside Elementary School in the Everett Public Schools District. She has worked in Everett Public Schools for more than 30 years, spending the first nine years of her career as a classroom teacher before moving into administration and serving as a school principal for 25 years. She has a bachelor's degree in education and master's degree in administration from Western Washington University and a doctorate from the University of Washington in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies. Dr. Cobbs is a Civil Service Commissioner for the City of Everett and a member of the board of directors for Volunteers of America Western Washington. In 1993, she was named "Woman of the Year" by the Business & Professional Women, Inc. of Snohomish County. She has also served as a member of boards for the Imagine Children’s Museum, Everett Parks and Recreation, Northwest Regional Educational Lab, Everett Performing Arts Theater, Everett Youth Symphony, Luther Child Center, and PTA.

Mike Deller, Chair

Mike Deller of Mukilteo was appointed by Governor Jay Inslee in November 2014. Mr. Deller, who graduated from EvCC in 1971, is a longtime supporter of the college. He is the second of three generations connected to EvCC. His father, Bill Deller, was the dean of students at the college and later established the EvCC Foundation. Prior to retirement, Mr. Deller’s career included real estate, working as district director for then-U.S. Representative Maria Cantwell, CEO of the Port of Everett, president of EverTrust Bank and the Bank of Everett, and as the Washington state director for the Trust for Public Land.  He has been involved in numerous Everett-area community organizations, but considers his involvement as chairman of the EvCC Foundation very important. After graduating from EvCC, Mr. Deller earned a bachelor of arts degree from Central Washington University then a Masters of Public Administration from Seattle University. 

Toraya Miller, Vice Chair

Toraya Miller of Lake Stevens was appointed by Governor Jay Inslee in November 2015.  Ms. Miller is the AVP/Business Development Manager at First Financial Northwest Bank. She is a board member for United Way Snohomish County. She attended DeAnza Community College in Cupertino, California. She then graduated from the American Bankers Association National Intermediate Compliance School, the American Bankers Association National Graduate School of Compliance Risk Management and University of Washington’s Pacific Coast Banking School.